20-013 President signs COIVD-19 federal disaster declaration for Kansas

March 30, 2020 | By slarson

President Donald Trump has signed a federal disaster declaration for the state of Kansas to support emergency measures within the state related to the COVID-19 virus.

The declaration authorizes federal funds for emergency protective measures not authorized under other federal statutes, including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program for local, state, and Indian tribal governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations at 75 percent federal funding for all areas in Kansas. Additional designations may be made later if warranted by the results of further assessments.

On behalf of the people of Kansas, I want to thank President Trump for granting this declaration, Governor Laura Kelly said. This money will go a long way toward protecting the emergency personnel who work tirelessly to stem the outbreak and care for those stricken by this virus. I thank them for their dedication and I also want to thank everyone who coordinates the many behind-the-scenes pieces of disaster management the public rarely sees, but are so important in protecting the health and safety of all Kansans.

The request was made by Gov. Kelly March 26 for the disaster period beginning January 20 and continuing. As of March 30, Kansas has seen eight deaths due to COVID-19 and has 372 confirmed cases in 40 counties across the state.