19-044 Update to disaster response: Three counties added to disaster proclamation

June 19, 2019 | By slarson
Brown, Ness and Osborne Counties were added to the state disaster proclamation signed by Governor Laura Kelly May 9 which brings the total to 66. Other counties currently named in the declaration are: Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Franklin, Geary, Gray, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jefferson, Kingman, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Norton, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Washington, Wilson, and Woodson. "Due to the severity of the weather damage, the path to recovery won't happen overnight," Kelly said. "We will continue to provide assistance as requested by jurisdictions to support response, and move swiftly in support of efforts to repair the damage." Thirty-three Kansas counties are now included a federal emergency disaster declaration from President Donald Trump. These counties are Allen, Anderson, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Harvey, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Marshall, Montgomery, Morris, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Reno, Riley, Saline, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Wilson, and Woodson. An emergency declaration supplements state and local government efforts for required emergency measures to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe through direct federal assistance for emergency protective measures. The State Emergency Operations Center remains at a partial activation to monitor flooding response. The Kansas National Guard continues to conduct water hauling operations in support of Lakeside Village in Jefferson County. The Guard is currently delivering an average of 24,000 gallons of water daily to the community water tower. Starting June 18, Small Business Administration representatives are on hand at two Disaster Loan Outreach Centers to answer questions about SBAs disaster loan program, explain the application process and help individuals complete their application. Both centers will be open from June 18 through June 27. No appointment is necessary. In Douglas County, the Disaster Loan Outreach Center will be located at Peaslee Technical Training Center - Classroom B, 2920 Haskell Ave., Lawrence. Hours of operation will be Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. In Leavenworth County, the Disaster Loan Outreach Center will be a Linwood Community Center Commons Area, 105 E. Third St., Linwood. Hours of operation will be Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The disaster declaration makes SBA assistance available in Douglas, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Miami, Osage and Shawnee counties. Low-interest federal disaster loans are available to businesses of all sizes, most private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters whose property was damaged or destroyed as a result of the severe storms and tornadoes on May 28.