An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

19-034 Flood Response Update: Marshall County added to governor's declaration

May 27, 2019 | By slarson

Marshall County has been added to the state of disaster declaration signed by Kelly on May 9 which brings the total to 47 counties. The declaration also includes: Anderson, Barber, Barton, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Elk, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Harvey, Jefferson, Kingman, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Neosho, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Wilson and Woodson. Governor Laura Kelly sent a request to President Donald Trump on Sunday, May 26, asking for emergency declaration.Emergency declarations supplement state and local government efforts through direct federal assistance for emergency debris removal and emergency protective action measures. The emergency declaration request is currently under review and the state has not yet received a determination. On this Memorial Day, as we work with flood impacted communities, we will also remember the service men and women who gave their lives for this country, said Kelly. We will honor their sacrifice through our work together to ensure our fellow Kansans safety. The Red Cross is operating two shelters in Montgomery County (Memorial Hall, 410 N. Penn, Independence and First Southern Baptist Church, 2701 W 8th, Coffeyville) and Wilson County (City Hall, 1407 North 8th Street, Neodesha). Six shelters are on standby in Dickson, Jefferson, Neosho, and Saline Counties. A pet shelter is also operational in Montgomery County at Memorial Hall, 410 N Penn, Independence.Three pet shelters are on standby.Two in Jefferson County and one in Neosho County. Flooding continues to impact roadways across Kansas.If you are traveling for Memorial Day updated road information can be found at The site displays information from KDOTs traveler information technology, including highway cameras, dynamic message signs, traffic management centers and 511 phone, online and mobile ( The Kansas Wildlife, Parks and Tourism closed the following State Parks due to flooding:Elk City State Park, Fall River State Park, Kanopolis State Park and Perry State Park.All parks were closed as of 5 p.m. Sunday, May 26. Hundreds of power outages have been reported across the state due to the storm system that swept through overnight. The Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) requested assistance from the Kansas National Guard to haul pallets of water and to assist with evacuations in identified locations. The Kansas National Guard also has prepositioned high wheeled vehicles and personnel at designated positions throughout the affected area to assist with the evacuation process if needed.Airmen from the Kansas National Guards 184th Intelligence Wings Unclassified Processing Assessment and Dissemination (UPAD) continue to support KDEM with geospatial imagery. KDEM is also coordinating Incident Management Teams and Emergency Operations Center support to impacted counties. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is providing four water pumps, manual sandbag machines, approximately 173,000 sandbags and Hesco barriers. The State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC) in Topeka remains activated to monitor weather conditions across the state and respond to requests for assistance due to widespread severe storms and flooding. It will remain activated 24/7 until further notice. State and Federal agencies that have reported to the SEOC are Kansas Division of Emergency Management, Kansas National Guard, Civil Air Patrol, Office of the State Fire Marshal, Kansas Highway Patrol, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Department for Children and Families, Kansas Department of Transportation, Kansas Water Office, National Weather Service, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and FEMA. Other partners in the SEOC are the American Red Cross and support from Ohio, North Carolina and Tennessee through the Emergency Management Assistance Compact.