Additional counties added to disaster declaration for Public Assistance

June 7, 2019 | By slarson

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management was notified today that Governor Laura Kellys request to add the counties of Brown, Ness, Osborne, Smith, Stafford, Wallace and Wyandotte for public assistance was approved. The Public Assistance program helps pay for restoration of public infrastructure and associated costs caused by flooding and tornado damage. With each damage assessment, we are getting a clearer picture of just how much the severe storms and flooding we experienced earlier this year affected Kansans all across the state," Kelly said. "This federal disaster declaration will do much to help these counties restore the roads, bridges and other infrastructure we all depend on. This approval is an amendment for the major disaster declaration for the State of Kansas (FEMA-4449-DR), approved by President Donald Trump on June 20. The request was made under the provisions of Section 401 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121-5208 (Stafford Act), and implemented by 44 CFR 206.35.