Kansas Division of Emergency management seal

19-057 Miami County added to disaster declaration for Public Assistance

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management was notified that Governor Laura Kelly’s request to add Miami County for public assistance was approved.  This brings the total of counties eligible for public assistance to 70.  The Public Assistance program helps pay for restoration of public infrastructure and associated costs caused by flooding and tornado damage.

“The fine infrastructure we have of roads, bridges, and utilities is so vital to keeping our Kansas economy on the move,” Kelly said. “This federal assistance will help those counties affected by the severe storms and floods to repair damages as quickly as possible.”

Other counties that have been approved for public assistance are: Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Franklin, Geary, Gray, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jefferson, Kingman, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Ness, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Rush, Russell, Saline, Smith, Stafford, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Wallace, Washington, Wilson, Woodson and Wyandotte.

This approval is an amendment for the major disaster declaration for the State of Kansas (FEMA-4449-DR), approved by President Donald Trump on June 20.

The request was made under the provisions of Section 401 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5208 (Stafford Act), and implemented by 44 CFR § 206.35.